Tuesday, 10 April 2018

Paku San passes away!

Studio Ghibli's Isao Takahata has died at the age of 82.

image from 'kingdom of dreams and madness' film 2013 - Takahata, Suzuki and Miyazaki in Ghibli's rooftop garden


Various February and March 2018 Awards!

On the evening of Tuesday 20th March, the RTS (Royal Television Society) RoI student Awards ceremony was held in RTE. Delighted to say that IADT graduates Aoife Moiselle and Tara Woods won the Student Animation category with their film 'Consent'. The Award presented by Cartoon Saloon's Paul Young!

Paul Young ( CEO Cartoon Saloon ) presented the Animation Award to Aoife Moiselle (IADT)
(image from RTE)


Then, on Wednesday 21st of March, the inaugural national DELTA Awards ceremony took place in Dublin's Mansion House.

The DELTA Awards (Disciplinary Excellence in Learning Teaching and Assessment) was hosted by the National Forum to celebrate discipline groups within institutions who demonstrate sustained achievements in teaching and learning enhancement.  The DELTA Awards form an integral part of the overall National Learning Impact Awards designed to enhance, showcase and strengthen teaching excellence in higher education by recognising the value of teaching at a national level.  The National Forum was delighted to have Mary Mitchell O’Connor, T.D., Minister of Higher Education will attend and present the Awards.

Taking place in the Mansion House, Dublin 2 the DELTA Awards were an evening of celebration for our finalists, who are all leading the way with successful and ambitious approaches to change in teaching and learning within their disciplines.

Very proud to say that IADT's 'Critical Thinking and Creative Practice' project won one of the awards! Our project was led by Sherra Murphy and Elaine Sisson, with Fiona Snow, Clyde Doyle and myself as the project team, though the project represented our entire Faculty of Film, Art and Creative Technologies. Thanks also to IADT's President Annie Doona and to Therese Moylan (Chair of IADT's Teaching and Learning Committee) for supporting us on the night! A celebration of success and good things in Teaching and Learning!

Pictured: Andrew Forde USI, Clyde Doyle, Fiona Snow, Elaine Sisson, Sherra Murphy, David Quin, Faculty of Film, Art & Creative Technologies. Prof Sarah Moore
(image DELTA)